image

image

 
JOIN 800,000+ MEMBERS JOINJOIN Cancel
image

Maryland Relinquishment, Consent, Revocation laws

print
bookmark
comment
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
You may use the stars on the left to rate and leave feedback for the current article. No registration is required. Waiting for 5 votes 0.0 of 5 stars (0 votes) — Thanks for your vote

Please fill out the following optional information before submitting your rating:



Relinquishment - Consent - Time to Revoke

Maryland



Who Must Consent:


  • The natural mother and father.
  • If parental rights have been terminated, the head of the agency that has been awarded guardianship.


Consent of Adoptee:

A child 10 years or older must consent to the adoption.

When Parental Consent is Not Needed:


  • Child has been out of parent's custody for 1 year and has significant attachment to petitioner.
  • Parent has failed to contact or support child.
  • Parent has been convicted of child abuse or a crime of violence against a child.


When Relinquishment Can Be Signed:

Not addressed in statutes reviewed.

How Relinquishment Must Be Signed:


  • Consent must contain express notice of right to revoke.
  • A minor parent's consent is valid only when accompanied by an affidavit from counsel stating that consent is given knowingly and willingly.


Time for Revocation:


  • Consent may be revoked within 30 days.
  • Individual to be adopted may revoke consent at any time before a decree is entered.


Adapted from materials prepared by the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse.

Visitor Comments (0) - Be the first to comment
Adding your comments contributes to the adoption community. Please keep all comments on topic and civil. Visitors are invited to comment and vote for or flag comments based on appropriateness and helpfulness. All comments must adhere to our commenting rules and are subject to moderation.
Settings Help Feedback
Template Settings
Width: 1024     1280
Choose a Location:
Choose a Theme: